SaveMe Oh – The Darned Artist

In the GMP MAGAZINE March 2013 an interview with me. To read the full article with all my glossy pics click the picture.

SaveMe 1A en B kopie

If you hate to see me tucked up between giant elephant dicks, you can also just read the interview here that I had with my brother JoaoPedro Oh.

You are the most polemic person I ever met. Yet you have a very peculiar view about art at SL, and I love it. Tell us about how your artistic career begun.

When I entered Secondlife in 2007 I met some Americans who were running a club with girls who were poledancing with a large tipjar in front of them. I found this so ridiculous to enter a new medium and the first thing I found was a sexist, white male dominated imitation of the worst outings of real life. To disturb this role-reinforcing practices I start to attach a wheelchair and start to poledance with it and this resulted in my first bans. And it will not be a surprise that on my further journey in the virtual world I encounter more and more of this hypocrite  behaviourism. And that was the start of my career as a performance artist in which I try to shake up the virtual world a little, especially when owners, rulers and self acclaimed dictators try to set up their own little banana republic’s in where they invent themselves the rules and punishments.

I start to build all kind of items who could bring out the message stronger and start to question the motives of the new wannabe dictators in public. All resulting finally into a strong believe that nobody should own something or another and that we are all free to perform whatever we want on every moment we want as in the end everybody is in my screen. And when they don’t want to be there, they should get the fuck out of my screen.

Tell us about your most important theatres, exhibitions , performances, that you developed since the begin of your SL. You always searched controversy , and for that you was the darned artist. Do you think you ever will be recognised as an artist?

What irritated me from the beginning in secondlife was the huge influence of the nationalistic re-creationists. The French had to recreate Paris, The Portuguese could all be found in the copy of Lisboa and the English are having tea in the shadows of the Big Ben. Was the only creativity they could come up with the re-creation of their real life while they had all kinds of new virtual opportunities lying ahead of them? One of my first projects in answer to this was the Dutch Salvation Church, the church where Cheesus could be worshipped in a church build up completely out of “typical” Dutch products as Negro Kisses, Peppermint pillars and Candy Cotton forests. The Sunday ceremony performed here enlighten a lot of re-creationist to search for other ways of expression.

Another mayor performance was to confront the Wikipedia artists with all the bullshit they write on their notecards to explain their Sudoku art, art that requires a complete library to understand what deep levels are lying underneath the even deeper levels of the bottoms of their tormented souls. Nortorius in this case were the works of DanCoyote Antonelli who invented his own hyperformalism and try to add this himself to Wikipedia. Normally art critics do this after 50 years when they discover a certain movement in art, he did it himself. In answer to this megalomaniacs I created my own movement, the fundamental environmental roadshow that invaded this bullshit spaces with a eco-friendly alternative, wearable, moving art that left no traces after performing and with absolutely no notecard needed to understand everything as I even didn’t understand myself what the hell I was doing while swimming in a wearable aquarium of milking a giant cow on stage.

Artists in secondlife glue prims together in a sim that stays there after completion for weeks or months and somehow in their narcissist view on themselves of their utterly greatness they expect the visitor to silently admire their genius. As if I go every day in the week to Picasso’s Guernica to sit there hours glued on a chair in front of it. That’s why I recently developed the project Dancehall Days – The party is where we are. This is a complete wearable and changeable environment that upgrades every dull art sim in a boiling hot meeting point for avatars who can battle, inspire, jam and improvise together to make really a virtual interaction taking place. That this covers up a little the original building could be seen as collateral damage. And when I and my friends have left there are still ages to go in peace to see the boredom presented just for yourself, with or without a notecard at hand.

And if I will be recognised as artist for it? If even the gay’s start to be interested in art instead of showing their elephant dicks in public I rest my case.

I understand your point of view … But not everyone is looking for the SL with pedagogic goals or artistic reasons. Freedom of choice is something very positive in SL. Accepting differences is much more difficult then be creative. Being your way of being in SL somehow pedagogical have been somehow successful?

Everybody is completely free to stay as far away from me as possible, or mute or ban me but I do not accept anything for granted what passes in front of my nose. When someone feels the need to present herself or her work I feel free to anticipate on that in whatever way I like and vice versa I encourage it too. Everybody is in secondlife for different reasons, that is not my problem, I am in secondlife because it is a tool with great possibilities and when I see idiots abuse, destroy or rape this tools for the benefit of boredom, re-creation, avatar parking’s, being in power or playing their RL on my screen it’s time to interfere. And mother Teresa also never asked before if you want to be saved or not. She just did it.

Do you have idea how many sims you are banned from? If they banned you from good, I will miss you a lot, you are not a scam, your way to be in a social game is very hard, but i recogneise your hard work and incredible creativity. Will you be happy in a SL living alone in a sim?

If I score an average of one ban a week and I am turning six this month, you can make your counting. But all the banning, exclusion and silencing will not hold me back because when you have a mission it is not for the faint hearted. And I am not alone in a sim using a box of Kleenex to wipe my tears as I am exited of being almost married and I have a lot of friends, acolytes and minions who are not afraid to look a little bit closer to what’s behind the surface I don’t feel lonely at all, on the contrary, my secondlife is so full off exiting adventures that the stupid facebook is too small to cover it all. And all the sims that once banned me? Most of them have now disappeared.

I like your irreverence, and I hope people start to understand you more (even if I understand why people ban you) and thank you for this interview, you are my SL sister anyway, the only one I have here:))

What else do you have family for? xxx

4 thoughts on “SaveMe Oh – The Darned Artist

  1. just great:

    “a complete wearable and changeable environment that upgrades every dull art sim in a boiling hot meeting point for avatars who can battle, inspire, jam and improvise together to make really a virtual interaction taking place. That this covers up a little the original building could be seen as collateral damage.”

    and I that had never thought that collateral damage could have a good side!

  2. What I love about your spirit, is that you are inspired by these xenophobiacs…and create positive alternatives. Me, I’m more horrified by them, and wish to avoid the pain of interaction. Your approach is certainly more healthy…but I do want to say, that the Mother Theresa analogy has a subtle downside. She gave her heart and soul to heal people who knew they were sick…narcisssists have no self-understanding of their sickness. are they worth the effort? One would hope so…but it’s fair to answer the question: probably not.

Leave a Reply

