Her Quite Theatrical Thinking Process

A two week love affair came to a tragic end on Valentines Day 2016. And his words were so promising……

Serene Footman: I haven’t banned you, i’d like to see what you wanted to do so you are welcome.

Kate Bergdorf: I predict however that this will fuel her quite theatrical thinking process and there will be more drama to come.

Snapshot_376

Serene Footman: Well forgive me for panicking when i saw the scale of what you were – presumably – wearing.

Kate Bergdorf: I predict however that this will fuel her quite theatrical thinking process and there will be more drama to come.

Snapshot_379

Serene Footman: I am happy to have a philosophical debate about freedom with you.

Kate Bergdorf: I predict however that this will fuel her quite theatrical thinking process and there will be more drama to come.

Snapshot_381

Serene Footman: This is awesome – I never saw you before.

Kate Bergdorf: I predict however that this will fuel her quite theatrical thinking process and there will be more drama to come.

Snapshot_383

Serene Footman: By the time she left, after three and a half hours of the most immersive and engaging art I have ever seen in Second Life, I was in awe.

Kate Bergdorf: I predict however that this will fuel her quite theatrical thinking process and there will be more drama to come.

Snapshot_384

Serene Footman: I felt privileged. It was that good. I tell this story partly against myself; it speaks of my ignorance, and possibly – as SaveMe Oh, might argue – of my arrogance, too.

I’ll take both criticisms.

But the main reason I am telling the story in this way – and my reason for quoting the dialogue above – is because, as a subsequent review of the history of this artist’s work has shown me, the context in which her art is performed matters a great deal to what she does.

Kate Bergdorf: I predict however that this will fuel her quite theatrical thinking process and there will be more drama to come.

Snapshot_385

Serene Footman: I asked the artist to come back and perform. With immense grace and wit she did so. What followed was an astonishingly vivid performance, almost visceral at times, which seemed uncannily well suited to Furillen.

Kate Bergdorf: I predict however that this will fuel her quite theatrical thinking process and there will be more drama to come.

Nothing can keep us together

Serene Footman: The sim’s music stream played a full part in the spectacle, as SaveMe Oh acknowledged. Indeed, she seemed to be responding to the music in the way her performance ebbed and flowed. There were moments of sheer spectacle…incredible colour … unceasing movement … great humour … and – to my eyes, at least – intense melancholy.

Kate Bergdorf: I predict however that this will fuel her quite theatrical thinking process and there will be more drama to come.

Snapshot_386

Serene Footman: I should have known who SaveMe Oh was. But I am pleased that I did not.

I don’t see myself as a dictator …but this was art in situ – on someone else’s terms. And that – in Second Life, as in first life – is important. It was an experience I will never forget.

Kate Bergdorf: I predict however that this will fuel her quite theatrical thinking process and there will be more drama to come.

Snapshot_388

SaveMe Oh: Let’s wait for the moment you beg me to stop

Serene Footman: When she returned to Furillen for a second consecutive evening, she gave us what I can only describe as a nightmare. As a performer, what SaveMe Oh does is extremely simple.

‘What I do is invade spaces and start to perform … nothing more nothing less’.

As on the previous evening, she transformed Furillen. This is art as process and spectacle; a collective experience, and extraordinarily immersive.

Kate Bergdorf: I predict however that this will fuel her quite theatrical thinking process and there will be more drama to come.

Snapshot_389

Serene Footman: I found this show even richer and more thought-provoking than the first. SaveMe Oh wrapped her audience tightly inside walls of television screens. It felt more intimate and intense – more suffocating – than the night before … from this artist who likes to speak of prisons.

This felt – and looked – like art as social theory.

Kate Bergdorf: I predict however that this will fuel her quite theatrical thinking process and there will be more drama to come.

Snapshot_390

And then came Valentines Day 2016.

Serene Footman: Last week I wrote about – and praised – two impromptu art displays given by SaveMe Oh at Furillen.

Today I ejected this avatar from the sim.

Why?

Furillen is a collaborative art sim, which has gained the reputation it has by virtue of the mutual respect shown to each other by the artists and visitors there. It is a sim in which harassment or rudeness of any kind is not tolerated.

Through her behaviour in group chat, and when visiting the sim a number of times yesterday, it has become clear that SaveMe Oh’s presence at the sim undermines this project.

In ejecting and banning SaveMe Oh from Furillen, I have the full support of the regular visitors and artists.

It was an act of collaboration – addressed to SaveMe Oh’s behaviour, not her art.

Kate Bergdorf: It sounds liked you handled this well, Serene. I applaud that you gave SaveMe Oh a platform and an opportunity to show her great immersive art, that is more than any other sim-owner would ever have done. But then you also recognized eventually that the art itself has very little to do with her provocative and destructive behavior. I predict however also that this blog post will fuel her quite theatrical thinking process and there will be more drama to come.

Bech: A pretentious, narcissistic attention seeker . .no doubt the flounce is all part of the ‘art’ , is it safe to come back now? Good on ya mate

Leave a Reply

